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ORPEA

Quarterly Report May 12, 2023

1578_iss_2023-05-12_aacd23bc-83dd-4c65-9503-736601a80f48.pdf

Quarterly Report

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Puteaux, 12 May 2023 (8:15 am CEST)

2022 FULL-YEAR RESULTS

2022 OPERATIONAL PERFORMANCE IN LINE WITH THE REFOUNDATION PLAN

NET RESULT 2022 OF -€4 BN:

  • REFLECTING THE COMPANY'S PROFOUND REORGANIZATION
  • VERY STRONGLY DETERIORATED BY ANTICIPATED ASSET DEPRECIATION IN DECEMBER 2022

REAL ESTATE ASSETS VALUED AT €6.5 BN

FINANCIAL RESTRUCTURING WELL UNDERWAY:

  • NET LEVERAGE TARGET OF 5.5X AT THE END OF 2025
  • THE CONVERSION OF ALL OF ORPEA SA'S UNSECURED DEBT
  • A RESTRUCTURING INVOLVING MASSIVE DILUTION OF EXISTING SHAREHOLDERS AND A THEORETICAL SHARE PRICE LOWER THAN 0.020€

DEADLINE FOR THE GENERAL MEETING TO APPROVE THE 2022 ACCOUNTS EXTENDED UNTIL 29 DECEMBER 2023 BY THE PRESIDENT OF THE COMMERCIAL COURT

1ST QUARTER 2023 REVENUES UP +10.2%

  • IN FRANCE, OCCUPANCY RATES IMPROVING IN CLINICS, NO IMPROVEMENT OBSERVED TO DATE IN NURSING HOMES
  • GOOD BUSINESS MOMENTUM IN OTHER GEOGRAPHIES

ORPEA Group announces its consolidated results1 for the 2022 financial year ended 31 December 2022, approved yesterday by the Board of Directors, as well as its revenues for the 1 er quarter 2023.

1 The audit procedures on the consolidated financial statements have been performed by the Statutory Auditors. The certification report will be issued after verification of the management report and finalization of the procedures required for the filing of the Universal Registration Document. It will include an observation referring to the justification in the accounts of management's maintenance of the going concern accounting principle, as well as an observation on the change in IAS 16 method related to the abandonment of the revaluation method for real estate complexes.

Laurent Guillot, Chief Executive Officer, comments: "The 2022 financial statements reflect the profound reorganization and the scale of the change that had to be driven within the company. 2022 will have been a year of change for ORPEA. Today, we are looking to the future. The Refoundation of the Group is well underway. In a few months, we have reconstituted an ethical and committed management team. We have redefined a strategy to serve our collaborators, care and support for patients, residents and their families. We have begun to restore our financial equilibrium to ensure the Group's long-term viability. Getting through these difficulties would never have been possible without the professionalism and commitment of our 76,000 employees who, on a daily basis, have never stopped caring for our residents and patients. I would like to sincerely thank them. Thanks to the proposed financial restructuring plan, which is to be submitted in the coming weeks to the vote of the classes of affected parties under the accelerated safeguard procedure, the Group will have a sound financial structure, the means to finance its Refoundation Plan, and will be able to devote itself serenely to the pursuit of its transformation."

As previously announced, while business remained resilient with growth of +8.9% for the year as a whole (including +5.5% organic), operating profitability was strongly affected, as the slight increase in the average occupancy rate was not sufficient to offset the effects of inflation and the decrease in Covid-19-related compensations. The 2022 EBITDAR margin fell sharply to 16.7% vs. 24.9% in 2021.

The 2022 consolidated financial statements include a significant decline in the value of assets recorded in the balance sheet. This is the result of asset impairments affecting the income statement in the amount of -€3.8 billion and a change in accounting method applied to real estate assets accounted for under IAS 16 in the amount of -€1.9 billion (excluding taxes), which is directly deducted from equity. This change of method was implemented in order to make ORPEA's accounts more comparable with those of companies with the same activity and consisted in restating the real estate assets at historical cost and no longer at revalued value (optional method under IAS 16). This total write-down of € -5.7 billion is in line with the forecast communicated on 21 December 2022. The impairments recorded are mainly the result of value tests carried out on the basis of the business plans specific to each establishment, drawn up as part of the strategic review carried out in the second half of the year.

On this basis, the Group's share of net result for the year 2022 is -€4 billion, leading to shareholders' equity of -€1.5 billion at the end of the year.

At 31 December 2022, the real estate portfolio was valued at €6.5 billion (including IFRS 5 assets held for sale), for a balance sheet value of €4.9 billion after the change in accounting method applied to the real estate assets previously accounted for using the optional IAS 16 method. As a reminder, as of 31 December 2021, the real estate portfolio was valued at €8.4 billion (including IFRS 5 assets held for sale), which corresponded to the revalued balance sheet value of the real estate complexes.

With regard to the progress of the financial restructuring, the Company has been benefitting from accelerated safeguard proceedings since 24 March 2023, in order to implement the accelerated safeguard plan proposed by the Company. This proposed plan has so far received majority support (approximately 51%) from ORPEA SA's unsecured financial creditors and the support of the Group's main banking partners. It will be submitted around mid-June to the vote of the classes of affected parties, including the existing shareholders of the Company.

The Group recalls that in the context of its financial restructuring, the envisaged capital increases will result in massive dilution for existing shareholders, who would hold, in the absence of reinvestment, less than 0.5% of the Company's share capital in the event of an accelerated safeguard plan approved by a two-thirds majority of all classes of affected parties, and less than 0.05% in the event of an accelerated safeguard plan imposed by cross-class cram down, which would be implemented in case of a negative vote by any of the classes.

  • & -

1. Context of the approval of the 2022 consolidated financial statements by the Board of Directors

On 24 March 2023, ORPEA SA entered into an accelerated safeguard procedure with a draft safeguard plan based in particular on the lock-up agreement signed on 14 February 2023 with the Groupement, which meets the objectives of ORPEA S.A. to achieve a sustainable financial structure and to finance its Refoundation Plan presented on 15 November 2022, and which is the subject of a majority support (approximately 51%) of its non-secured financial creditors, and on the agreement of 17 March 2023 concluded with the Group's main banking partners (the "G6") providing in particular for the implementation of additional financing of €400 million coupled with additional bridge financing of €200 million up to the second capital increase.

Taking into account:

  • the Group's cash position as of May 4, 2023, which amounts to €354 million ;
  • the Company's cash flow forecasts, based on the following structural assumptions:
    • New money debt contribution of €200 million in May 2023, €200 million in July 2023 and potentially €200 million in the last quarter of 2023 under the agreement with the main banking partners (accord d'étape);
    • Successive capital increases planned in the last quarter for €1.55 billion in cash.

The Company considers that, as of the date of closing of the accounts, it can have an estimated cash position compatible with its forecasted commitments and thus be in a position to meet its cash requirements over the next 12 months.

On this basis, the Board of Directors has approved the financial statements for the financial year ended 31 December 2022 in accordance with the going concern principle.

2. Consolidated income statement

M€ 2 021 2 022 Var.
Revenue 4 299 4 681 +8,9%
EBITDAR (*) 1 070 780 -27,1%
EBITDAR margin 24,9% 16,7% -824bp
EBITDA 1 041 756 -27,4%
EBITDA margin (**) 24,2% 16,2% -806bp
Current operating income 396 (49) n.a
Current operating marqin 9,2% -1,0% -1 026bp
Non-recurring items (41) (4 223) n.a
Cost of net financial debt (249) (319) +28,0%
Profit before tax 106 (4 591) n.a
Group net profit રિક (4 027) n.a

(*) EBITDAR is used by the Group to analyse its operating performance. It corresponds to operating income before rental expenses not eligible for IFRS 16 "Leases", depreciation and provisions, other operating income and expenses, interest and taxes.

(**) L'EBITDA correspond à l'EBITDAR, après déduction des charges locatives en application de la norme IFRS 16

The amount of rents not deducted from EBITDA under IFRS 16 amounted to €359 million in financial year 2021 and €414 million in financial year 2022 (the increase being mainly due to the Group's development). EBITDA excluding the impact of IFRS 16 amounted to €682 million for the full year 2021 and €342 million for the full year 2022.

Revenue for 2022 amounted to €4,681 million, an increase of +8.9%, of which +5.5% was organic, in line with the target announced on 15 November 2022.

Revenue in France rose by +2.1% (of which +1.9% organic) despite the crisis affecting the Group's retirement homes. The other geographic regions recorded high growth rates thanks to the improvement in business linked to the gradual recovery from the health crisis and the ramp-up of newly opened facilities.

EBITDAR will be €780 million in 2022, representing a margin of 16.7%, compared with 24.9% in 2021. This decrease of a total of -824 bps, is mainly due to:

  • for approximately -280 bps, an increase in personnel costs as a result of the salary pressures in the various geographical areas and the acceleration of recruitment in France over the September-December 2022 period;
  • for approximately -270 bps, an increase in other costs, with the most marked inflationary effects on food and energy. The Group's energy costs as a percentage of revenues in 2022 amounted to 3.5%, compared with 2.3% in 2021;
  • for approximately -185 bps, the reduction or elimination of the Covid-19 subsidies received in the various countries, which the increase in the Group's occupancy rate between the two fiscal years did not offset;
  • for approximately -90 bps, due to other factors, in particular the recognition in 2021 of significant amounts of specific income not carried over in 2022 (reversal of provisions, relief from social security charges and VAT credits).

EBITDA amounted to €756 million compared with €1,041 million in 2021, representing a margin of 16.2% of revenues.

EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 amounted to €342 million, representing a margin of 7.3%.

Current operating income amounts to €-49 million, compared with €396 million in 2021. This evolution was mainly due to a decline in operating profitability and an increase in depreciation and amortization related to the opening of new facilities.

Income before tax was €4,591 million, including €4,223 million of non-recurring items resulting mainly from:

  • impairment tests on tangible and intangible assets (IAS 36): all asset review work, based on new business plans drawn up by each facility worldwide and on other parameters specific to each asset class (in particular changes in real estate yields), has led to an adjustment of the values of a large proportion of the company's tangible and intangible assets, resulting in a charge of €3.1 billion to the income statement, with no impact on the Group's cash flow;
  • impairment losses on financial receivables of €0.5 billion, based on negotiations to date to unwind certain partnerships established by the former management and an assessment of the recoverability of the underlying assets;
  • 0.4 billion in depreciation on real estate assets (notably Greenfield);
  • exceptional expenses related to the management of the crisis that hit the Group in 2022 of €0.1 billion.

Net financial income was -€319 million, representing an increase of the expense of 28%. This change reflects the increase in gross financial debt, combined with higher interest rates and margins associated with the June 2022 refinancing.

Group net result for the financial year 2022 amounted to -€4,027 million.

ME 2021 Published 2021 Restated* 2022
Net tangible assets 8 069 6 157 5 001
Net intangible assets 3 076 3 076 1592
Goodwill 1 ਦਿੱਚੇ 1 669 1 362
Equity of the consolidated group 3 811 2 335 (1 502)
Gross financial debt (excluding IFRS 16 and IFR 8 862 8 862 ਰੇ 615
Short-term debt 1 856 1 856 8 236
Cash flow 952 952 856
Net debt (excluding IFRS 16 and IFRS 5) 7 910 7 910 8 758
Lease commitments (IFRS 16) 3 265 3 265 3 768

3. Main aggregates of the consolidated balance sheet

As of 31 December 2022, the book value of net tangible assets amounted to €5.0bn, down €3.1bn. This change is mainly due to impairment losses recognized on real estate assets (€1.4 billion recognized in the income statement) and a change in accounting method applied to real estate assets recognized under IAS 16 (€1.9 billion excluding the tax effect, recognized directly against equity).

At December 31, 2022, the balance sheet value of the real estate assets was €4.9 billion, with a total economic value of €6.5 billion. This amount includes €4.9 billion of assets valued by independent experts (based on an asset yield of 5.1%), the balance being maintained at book value.

Intangible assets and goodwill amounted to €1.6bn and €1.4bn respectively. These decreases, of €1.5 billion and €0.3 billion respectively, are mainly the result of impairment tests carried out on assets in accordance with IAS 36.

Cash and cash equivalents at the end of 2022 amounted to €856 million and €354 million at May 4, 2023.

Net financial debt amounted to €8.8bn (excluding IFRS 16 lease debt), up €0.8bn over the period. Given the covenants in the financing documentations of the Group, and notwithstanding the neutralization of their possible future consequences by the conciliation and accelerated safeguard procedures and their adjustment, an amount of €6.5bn of long-term financial debt directly and indirectly concerned has been reclassified in the accounts as financial liabilities due within one year. For the concerned debts at the level of ORPEA SA, the conciliation and accelerated safeguard procedures have led to a suspension of the contractual provisions relating to these covenants. As regards the other debts concerned, which are at the level of Group subsidiaries, the Company has obtained a waiver from the corresponding creditors since 31 December 2022, concerning their non-application at 31 December 2022 and a modification of these covenants. A sole indebtedness covenant (net debt/EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 < 9.0x) will be applicable as from June 2025.

The increase in gross financial debt of €0.8 billion (excluding IFRS 16 lease debt) is mainly related to tranches A and B put in place in June 2022, net of repayments of existing debt. More specifically, the corresponding cash contribution of €1.7 billion was used mainly to finance development capex (for nearly €0.55 billion), to service debt excluding G6 banks (interest and principal, for nearly €0.85 billion) and to service debt of G6 banks (interest and principal, for nearly €0.3 billion).

The maturity schedule of gross financial debt by type (excluding IFRS 16 rental debt and excluding accounting reclassifications to short-term debt) at the end of 2022 is summarized below:

€m, YE 2022) 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 > 2028 Cum.
June 22 secured financing 900 200 627 1 500 0 0 3 227
Other secured debt (subs. and ORPEA SA) 311 237 205 205 141 1 032 2 132
Unsecured debt (subs. and ORPEA SA) 593 625 785 607 734 1 013 4 357
Total 1 804 1 062 1 618 2 311 876 2 046 9 716

On a pro forma basis of the proposed financial restructuring (conversion in equity of €3.8 billion of unsecured debt of ORPEA S.A. and additional financing of €400 million), the maturity schedule of gross financial debt as of 31 December 2022 would be as follows:

(€m, pro-forma of the financial restructuring) 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 > 2028 Cum.
June 22 secured financing 200 200 300 200 2 327 0 3 227
New Money G6 0 0 0 400 0 0 400
Other secured debt (subs. and ORPEA SA) 311 237 205 205 141 1 032 2 132
Unsecured debt (subsidiaries) 136 152 40 130 12 64 534
Total 647 589 546 935 2 481 1 096 6 294

Consolidated shareholders' equity stood at -€1.5bn at December 31, 2022, mainly due to the net loss for the year (-€4bn) and the impact of the change in accounting method applied to real estate projects accounted for under IAS 16 (-€1.5bn after tax effect).

4. 2022 Financing Table (excluding IFRS 16 impact)

(ME)
EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 342
Cash / non-cash EBITDA adjustments 11
Change in. WCR (excl. tax) (23)
Operating Capex (136)
Taxes (cash) (72)
OPERATING CASH FLOWS 122
Development Capex (638)
Real Estate Disposals 132
Non-current items (152)
Net financial expenses (215)
Net Financial Investments (94)
Changes in scope (31)
Others (40)
VAR. NET FINANCIAL DEBT (exc. IFRS) (916)
NET FINANCIAL DEBT (exc. IFRS) 12/31/20. (1 944)
var net debt (916)
NET FINANCIAL DEBT (exc. IFRS) 31/12/20. (8 860)

Cash flow from operating activities amounted to €122 million after deducting maintenance Capex and IT Capex.

Development capex, mainly real estate (Greenfield projects), amounted to €638 million, down from the forecast of 15 November 2022 (€705 million).

The real estate disposals result mainly from a transaction in the Netherlands.

Non-current items include expenses related to the management of the crisis experienced by the Group.

At the end of 2022, net financial debt (excluding IFRS) had increased by €916 million to €8,860 million.

5. Update of the Business Plan presented on 15 November 2022

The 2022-2025 Business Plan underlying the Refoundation Plan presented on 15 November 2022 has been updated to take into account, on the one hand, the 2022 achievements and the consequences of the various reviews carried out in the context of the closing of the 2022 accounts, and, on the other hand, the terms and conditions of the proposed accelerated safeguard plan (to be related to the assumptions related to the financial restructuring that had been retained last fall).

The business outlook for the 2022-2025 period remains broadly unchanged, the only notable differences being an accounting reclassification of IT expenditure from capital expenditure to operating expenditure (€19m in 2022, €30m for subsequent years), with no impact on operating flows (lower EBITDAR offset by lower capex), and a slight downward revision of the development capex envelope over the period (nearly €75m out of a total of around €1.6bn).

The financial projections are essentially impacted by the terms and conditions of the draft Safeguard Plan, namely a cash capital increase of €1.55 billion (compared to an average of €1.4 billion in the vision of 15 November 2022) and an additional secured financing of €0.4 billion (instead of €0.6 billion in the vision of 15 November 2022 and excluding bridge financing of €0.2 billion in 2023).

On this basis, and before taking into account the commitment made to the G6 banks regarding real estate disposals, the Group's net debt is now projected at €4.5bn at the end of 2025 (instead of €4.9bn), corresponding to a leverage of 6.3x (instead of 6.5x), based on a 2025 EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 of €715m (instead of €745m).

With a view to achieving the objective of reducing the Group's holding of real estate assets in operation to 20-25%, the Group has made a commitment to the G6 banks and in the context of the safeguard plan to dispose of at least €1.25 billion of real estate assets (in gross value and excluding rights) over the period 2022-2025. These additional real estate disposals will leave the Group's EBITDAR unchanged, but will lead to a reduction in EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 due to the addition of rental payments corresponding to the leases on the real estate assets sold, this new expense being partially offset by the reduction in financial expenses concomitant with the repayment of the Group's debt with the net proceeds from the real estate disposals.

In total, taking into account the net proceeds of additional real estate disposals and other impacts related to these disposals (higher rents in the face of lower financial charges), compared to the initial plan the updated Business Plan finally projects that the Group's net debt will be reduced to nearly €3.7 billion at the end of 2025, corresponding to a leverage of 5.5x (instead of 6.3x), based on a 2025 EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 reduced to €671 million (instead of €715 million)

6. General Meeting to approve the 2022 financial statements

In accordance with the applicable legal provisions, the Company requested and obtained from the President of the Commercial Court of Nanterre an extension of the meeting time of the General Meeting of Shareholders responsible for approving the financial statements for the financial year which ended 31 December 2022. The order issued by the President of the Nanterre Commercial Court on 11 May, 2023 extends the meeting deadline to 29 December 2023. Consequently, the Company will convene and hold its annual shareholders' meeting before this date and, in any event, following acquisition of their stake in the capital of the Company by the new shareholders.

7. Revenues for the 1er quarter 2023

M€ CA Q1 2022 CA Q1 2023 Growth % Organic growth
% % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % % %
FRANCE BENELUX UK IRELAND 679,2 720,1 +6,0% +5,8%
CENTRAL EUROPE 283,3 322,2 +13,7% +12,6%
EASTERN EUROPE 101,1 121,1 +19,7% +19.6%
IBERIAN PENINSULA + LATAM 55,5 69,2 +24,7% +21,8%
OTHER COUNTRIES 1,0 1,8 +88,0% +3,4%
Total 1 120,0 1234,4 +10,2% +9,5%

Geographic breakdown: Central Europe (Germany, Italy and Switzerland), Eastern Europe (Austria, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Latvia, Croatia), Iberian Peninsula and Latin America (Spain, Portugal, Brazil, Uruguay, Mexico, Colombia, Chile), Other countries (China).

* The organic growth in Group revenues includes: 1. the change in revenues (N vs. N-1) of existing facilities resulting from changes in their occupancy rates and daily rates; 2. the change in revenues (N vs. N-1) of facilities restructured or whose capacity was increased in N or in N-1; 3. the revenues generated in N by facilities created in N or in N-1; 3. Revenues generated in N by facilities created in N or N-1, and the change in revenues of recently acquired facilities over a period equivalent in N to the consolidation period in N-1.

ORPEA recorded growth of +10.2% in the first quarter of 2023, of which +9.5% was organic.

In Q1 2023, the average occupancy rate was 83%, up +160bps vs. Q1 2022.

In France, business was solid in the clinics, while the occupancy rate in long-term care facilities has not yet recovered.

In Central and Eastern Europe and in the Iberian Peninsula and Latin America, business benefited from an increase in occupancy rates and a favorable price effect.

Average occupancy rate Q1 2022 Q1 2023 Var. (bps)
France Benelux UK Ireland 84,9% 83,8% (115) bps
Central Europe 78,1% 81,5% 340 bps
Eastern Europe 80,9% 83,7% 287 bps
Iberian Peninsula + Latam 74,4% 83,2% 886 bps
Other countries 83,5% 42,9% (4062) bps
Total 81,4% 83,0% 160 bps

Change in occupancy rate (Q1 2023 vs. Q1 2022)

8. Reminder of the consequences of the financial restructuring for existing shareholders

The Company has been under accelerated safeguard procedure ("procédure de sauvegarde accélérée") since 24 March 2023. The purpose of this procedure is to allow the implementation of the accelerated safeguard plan proposed by the Company. This draft plan has so far received the support of the majority (approximately 51%) of ORPEA SA's unsecured financial creditors and the

support of the Group's main banking partners. It is to be submitted around mid-June to a vote of the classes of parties affected, including the existing shareholders of the Company.

The envisaged plan provides for 3 capital increases:

  • A first capital increase with preferential subscription rights backstopped by the unsecured financial creditors of ORPEA S.A. by way of set-off against their claims for approximately €3.8 billion;
  • A second capital increase in cash allowing the Groupement to enter the capital for an amount of approximately €1.15 billion;
  • A third capital increase in cash with preferential subscription rights for an amount of approximately €0.4 billion.

In the event that the Accelerated Safeguard Plan is not approved by one or more of the classes of affected parties, it may, pursuant to article L.626-32 of the French Commercial Code, be approved by the Commercial Court at the request of the Company or the judicial administrator with the agreement of the Company and be imposed on the class or classes of affected parties that did not vote in favor of it, subject to compliance with the conditions set forth in the aforementioned provisions ("cross-class cram-down").

In such cross-class cram-down scenario, the Accelerated Safeguard Plan will provide for the issuance, in the context of each of the planned capital increases, of a number of new shares ten times higher than the number of new shares that would be issued in the hypothesis of a favorable vote of the Accelerated Safeguard Plan by each of the classes of affected parties, resulting in a dilution of the existing shareholders (in the event that they decide not to participate in any of the capital increases), ten times higher, in the event of cross-class cram-down. This would result, in the event of cross-class cram-down, in the issuance of new shares at issue prices ten times lower than the issue prices applicable in the event of a favorable vote of the Accelerated Safeguard Plan by each of the classes of affected parties.

The Group reminds that in the context of its financial restructuring, the envisaged capital increases will lead to a massive dilution for the existing shareholders, who would hold, upon completion of the financial restructuring, and if they decide not to participate in the capital increases, approximately 0.4% of the Company's share capital in the event of approval of the accelerated safeguard plan by each of the classes of affected parties, and approximately 0.04% in the event of non-approval of the accelerated safeguard plan by at least one of the classes of affected parties.

On the basis of the financial parameters on which the draft Safeguard Plan is based and in application of the aforementioned principles, assuming an approval of the accelerated Safeguard Plan by each of the classes of affected parties, the issue price of the first capital increase with preferential subscription rights (conversion into capital of the unsecured debt of ORPEA SA) would be approximately € 0.60 per share, the issue price of the second capital increase (capital increase allowing the entry of the Groupement) would be approximately € 0.18 per share and the issue price of the third capital increase with preferential subscription rights (capital increase in cash) would be approximately € 0.13 per share, i.e. at levels significantly below the current share price. Thus, under these conditions, the theoretical unit value, after the various transactions on the capital and before any possible consolidation of shares, would be less than €0.20 per share.

On the basis of the financial parameters on which the draft Safeguard Plan is based and in application of the aforementioned principles, in the event of non-approval of the accelerated Safeguard Plan by at least one of the classes of affected parties, the issue price of the first capital increase with preferential subscription rights (conversion into capital of the unsecured debt of ORPEA SA) would be approximately € 0.06 per share, the issue price of the second capital increase (capital increase reserved for the Groupement, with a priority subscription right for existing shareholders in the event that the shareholders, gathered in a class of affected parties, do not approve the plan) would be approximately €0.018 per share and the issue price of the third capital increase with preferential subscription rights (capital increase in cash) would be approximately €0.013 per share. This would lead to a theoretical unit value, after the various transactions and before any possible consolidation of shares, of less than €0.02 per share.

In both cases, the issue price of the new shares of the first capital increase is more than three times higher than the issue price of the shares of the second capital increase, as well as the theoretical unit value of the share after all operations.

About ORPEA

ORPEA is a leading global player, expert in providing care for all types of frailty. The Group operates in 22 countries and covers three core businesses: care for the elderly (nursing homes, assisted living facilities, homecare and services), post-acute and rehabilitation care and mental health care (specialized clinics). It has more than 76,000 employees and welcomes more than 255,000 patients and residents each year.

https://www.orpea-group.com/en

ORPEA is listed on Euronext Paris (ISIN: FR0000184798) and is a member of the SBF 120, MSCI Small Cap Europe and CAC Mid 60 indices.

Investor Relations Investor Relations Press Relations
ORPEA NewCap ORPEA
Benoit Lesieur Dusan Oresansky Isabelle Herrier-Naufle
Investor Relations Manager Tel: 01 44 71 94 94 Press Relations Director
[email protected] [email protected] Tel: 07 70 29 53 74
[email protected]
Toll-free number for shareholders : Image 7
0 805 480 480
Charlotte Le Barbier
Tel: 06 78 37 27 60
[email protected]
Laurence Heilbronn

[email protected]

Disclaimer - forward-looking information

This press release contains forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties, including those included or incorporated by reference, regarding the Group's future growth and profitability that could cause actual results to differ materially from those indicated in the forward-looking statements. These risks and uncertainties relate to factors that the Company cannot control or accurately estimate, such as future market conditions. The forward-looking statements in this press release constitute expectations of future events and should be treated as such. Actual events or results may differ from those described in this document due to a number of risks or uncertainties described in the Company's 2021 Universal Registration Document, which is available on the Company's website and on the AMF website (www.amf-france.org), and in the 2022 Half-Year Financial Report, which is available on the Company's website.

Organic growth Organic growth in Group revenues includes :
1. The change in revenues (N vs. N-1) of existing facilities as
a result of changes in their occupancy rates and per diem
prices;
2. The change in sales (N vs. N-1) of establishments
restructured or whose capacities were increased in N or N
1;
3. The sales achieved in N by establishments created in N or
in N-1, and the change in sales of recently acquired
establishments over a period equivalent in N to the
consolidation period in N-1.
EBITDAR EBITDAR is used by the Group to analyse its operating
performance. It corresponds to operating income before
rental expenses not eligible for IFRS 16 "Leases",
depreciation and provisions, other operating income and
EBITDA expenses, interest and taxes.
EBITDA Corresponds to EBITDAR, after deduction of rental
expenses in accordance with IFRS 16
Net financial debt Long-term financial debt + short-term financial debt - cash
and marketable securities (excluding lease liabilities - IFRS
16 and IFRS 5 liabilities)
Capitalization rate The capitalization rate of real estate or rate of return is the
ratio between the rent and the value of the building
Cash-flow from operations Cash flow from operating activities includes the cash impact of operations

APPENDIX 1

CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AT THE END OF 2022

1. Consolidated income statement

Consolidated income statement
in €m
2021 2022
REVENUE 4 299 4 681
Staff costs (2 644) (3 028)
Purchases used and other external expenses (732) (939)
Taxes and duties (26) (63)
Depreciation, amortisation and charges to provision (645) (805)
Other recurring operating income and expenses 144 105
Recurring operating profit 396 (49)
Other non-recurring operating income and expenses (41) (4 223)
OPERATING PROFIT 355 (4 272)
Net financial expense (249) (319)
PROFIT BEFORE TAX 106 (4 591)
Income tax expense (38) 596
Share in profit (loss) of associates and JV (1) (33)
Profit (loss) attributable to non-controlling interest (2) 1
NET PROFIT ATTRIBUTABLE TO SHAREHOLDERS 65 (4 027)

2. Consolidated balance sheet

Consolidated balance sheet - in €m 31-Dec-21 31-déc-21
restated IAS 16)
31/12/2022
Non-current assets 16 181 14 269 12 226
Goodwill 1 669 1 669 1 362
Net intangible assets 3 076 3 076 1 592
Net tangible assets 7 237 5 324 4 375
Assets in progress 832 832 627
Right of use assets 3 073 3 073 3 500
Other non-current assets 294 294 770
Current assets 2 415 2 415 1 915
Cash and short-term investments 952 952 856
Assets held for sale 388 388 353
- -
TOTAL ASSETS 18 984 17 072 14 494
- -
Equity - Group share 3 799 2 324 (1 502)
Consolidated equity 3 811 2 335 (1 502)
Non-current financial liabilities 11 632 11 195 5 979
Long-term debt 7 007 7 007 1 378
Long-term lease commitments 2 968 2 968 3 424
Provisions for liabilities and charges 223 148 296
Deferred tax liabilities and other non-current liabilities 1 434 75 66
Current liabilities 3 541 997 814
Current financial liabilities 3 541 3 541 9 962
Short-term debt 1 856 1 856 8 236
Short-term lease commitments 297 297 344
Provisions 22 22 (0)
Trade payables 335 335 327
Tax and payroll liabilities 329 329 412
Current income tax liabilities 69 69 112
Other payables, accruals and prepayments 633 633 529
Liabilities for sale - - 56
TOTAL LIABILITIES 18 984 17 072 14 494

3. Cash flow statement

31/12/2022 31/12/2021
M€
Operating cash-flow
Consolidated Net Earnings (4,027,579) 66,861
Elimination of charges and incomes with no impact on operating cash-flows 3,907,079 285,056
IFRS 16 impact 350,498 294,300
Financial income 182,120 168,730
Financial expense on rental commitment 97,939 80,167
Capital gains on disposals not related to operations (net of tax) 0 0
Consolidated companies' gross cash-flow 510,057 895,114
Change in working capital requirements related to operations
-
Inventory
181 4,089

-
Account receivable
(7,109) (198,406)
-
Other receivable
28,959 (8,027)
-
Tax and payroll tax expenses
124,548 51,383
-
Account payable
37,215 25,381
-
Other payable
(284,124) (15,783)
Net operating cash-flow 409,728 753,751
Investment and development cash-flow
Capital expenditure (158,711) (1,270,736)
Real estate sales 132,490 284,125
Other acquisitions and changes (631,268) (421,906)
Net investment cash-flow (657,489) (1,408,517)
Financing cash flow
Dividend paid to parent company sharholders 0 (58,168)
Net receipts – (disbursements) related to bridge loans and bank overdrafts 0 53,558
Receipts from new leasing agreements 0 152,201
Receipts from other loans 3,398,461 2,265,693
Repayments of lease liabilities (415,891) (294,300)
Repayments related to other loans (2,470,057) (991,880)
Repayments related to leasing agreements (148,557) (159,908)
Net financial income and other variations (182,146) (248,897)
Net financing cash-flow 151,809 718,299
Change in cash-flow (95,952) 63,533
Opening cash-flow 952,369 888,836
Closing cash flow 856,417 952,369
Cash on the balance sheet 856,417 952,369
Cash flow equivalents 258,991 11,586
Cash flow 597,426 940,782

4. Information about Alternative Performance Measures ex IFRS 16

Income statement aggreagates IFRS 16 FY 2021 FY 2022
EBITDA excl. IFRS16 682 342
Rental IFRS 16 359 414
EBITDA margin excl. IFRS 16 15,9% 7,3%
Recurring operating profit excl. IFRS 16 337 -112
Recurring operating margin ex IFRS 16 7,8% -2,4%
Cash Flow ex IFRS 16 FY 2021 FY 2022
Operating cash flow [excl. IFRS 16] +401 (4)
Net Investment cash flows (1 405) (657)
Net financing flows [excl. IFRS 16] +1 068 +566
Change in cash +64 (96)
Reminder of cash-flow "GAAPS" FY 2021 FY 2022
Cash flow from operations (after tax) +895 +510
change in working capital (141) (100)
Net cash generated from operating activities +754 +410
Cash flow from investing and development (1 409) (657)

Net cash from financing activities +718 +152 Change in cash +64 (96)

APPENDIX 2

Business Plan 2022-2025 underpinning the Refoundation Plan

Update of the financial projections presented on 15 November 2022 in the light of the 2022 financial statements and the terms and conditions of the Accelerated Safeguard Plan (Plan de Sauvegarde Accélérée)

The business outlook for the 2022-2025 period covering the implementation of the Refoundation Plan and presented on 15 November 2022 remains unchanged at this stage, with the first years of the business plan corresponding to the 2022 achievements and the 2023 budget approved by the Company Board of Directors at the beginning of the year. Nevertheless, the financial projections attached to these forecasts, as well as certain management indicators and targets for 2025, must be updated in the light of, on the one hand, the 2022 achievements and the various reviews carried out in the context of the 2022 financial statements, and, on the other hand, the terms and conditions of the draft accelerated safeguard plan as set out in the lock-up agreement concluded with the Groupement and a majority of the non-secured creditors of ORPEA SA and the agreement concluded with the G6 banks on 17 March. These terms and conditions are to be reported to the financial restructuring assumptions adopted on 15 November 2022.

Impacts related to the various reviews carried out within the framework of the 2022 financial statement

The detailed review carried out in the context of the 2022 financial statements led to the reclassification of certain IT expenses as operating expenses (OPEX) when they were classified as capital expenses (CAPEX) in the vision of 15 November 2022. This has the consequence of reducing, all other things being equal, EBITDAR and EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 by nearly € 19 million in 2022 and € 30 million on an annual basis in 2023 and following years (due to the ramp-up of the IT program). In return, CAPEX IT is reduced by the same amount, leading to this new accounting treatment being neutral in terms of operating cash flow.

The completion of the balance sheet review work, the analysis of the cut-off at the end of 2022, marked by significant differences in payments from one year to the next, and the continuation of the detailed review of the projects under development led to the updating of CAPEX forecasts and other operational flows (changes in WCR, non-current items, etc.) in the 2023-2025 period. In this context, from one vision (15 November 2022) to the next (May 2023) and cumulatively in the period 2022-2025:

  • Operating cash flows remain broadly unchanged, with the lower maintenance and IT CAPEX in 2022 balancing changes in WCR that were more unfavorable than originally anticipated;
  • The cost of the CAPEX development program in the period 2022-2025 has been adjusted downwards by an amount of around € 75 million;
  • The flows related to non-current items and those related to the day-to-day management of the asset portfolio (as originally projected in the business plan) remain broadly unchanged.

On this basis, and taking better account of the effects of changes in the scope of consolidation, the net impact of the update would be a reduction in net debt at the end of 2025 of approximately € 50 million.

Impacts of the terms and conditions of the safeguard plan (plan de sauvegarde) before taking into account the real estate disposal program

The main differences between the terms and conditions of the safeguard plan and the assumptions relating to the financial restructuring originally envisaged are as follows:

  • New money Equity calibrated at €1,550 million instead of €1,400 million;
  • A new money debt calibrated at €400 million (excluding additional bridge financing of €200 million drawable in 2023) instead of €600 million, now structured in the form of a RCF, and with a margin of 2% instead of 5%;
  • The equitization of the non-secured portion of the Euro PP December 2026 ;
  • A margin for tranches A-B-C set at 2% instead of 1,75%, with historical rates to be applied over a longer period (the date of completion of the financial restructuring is now projected to be the fourth quarter);
  • Compulsory depreciation of tranche A for the years 2023-2026.

On these bases, the savings in the cumulative interest expense (approximately € 90 million), the larger capital increase in cash (€150 million) and the increase in the amount of equitized non-secured debt (approximately €60 million) would lead to a reduction in net debt at the end of 2025 of approximately €300 million.

Under these conditions, and before taking into account the commitment regarding real estate disposals made to G6 banks, the Group's net debt would amount to €4.5 billion at the end of 2025 (instead of €4.9 billion), corresponding to a leverage of 6.3x (instead of 6.5x), based on 2025 EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 of €715 million (instead of €745 million).

Impact of the commitment made in terms of real estate disposals to be carried out on 2022- 2025

In view of the objective of a future holding of the operating real estate portfolio reduced to 20-25%, the Group has committed to G6 banks and, as part of the safeguard plan, to have made at least 1.25 billion euros in real estate disposals (gross value and excluding duties) over the 2022-2025 period. Compared to the current flow of real estate disposals that was included in the business plan presented on 15 November 2022, this corresponds to an additional volume of real estate disposals of nearly € 1.0 billion over the years 2024-2025.

These additional real estate disposals will leave the Group's EBITDAR unchanged but will lead to a reduction in EBITDA outside IFRS 16 by adding rents corresponding to leases of the transferred real estate assets, this new expense being partially offset by the reduction in financial expenses associated with the repayment of the Group's debt with net income from property disposals.

In total, based on net income (after tax) from additional real estate sales estimated at nearly €850 million and an accumulated balance of rent / savings in financial expenses amounting to nearly €20 million in aggregate, the Group's net debt would be reduced to € 3.7 billion at the end of 2025, corresponding to a leverage of 5.5x (instead of 6.3x), based on EBITDA 2025 excluding IFRS 16 reduced to €671 million (instead of €715 million).

Summary: New EBITDA trajectories (excluding IFRS 16) and reduction of financial leverage

In conclusion, the updated vision of the 2022-2025 Business Plan underpinning the Refoundation Plan, taking into account the terms and conditions of the proposed accelerated safeguarding plan, including the commitment to implement a €1.25 billion property sale program overthe 2022-2025 period, is based on an EBITDA sequence excluding IFRS 16 adjusted as follows:

EBITDA (excl. IFRS 16) in € million 2022 2023 2024 2025
Vision 15 November 2022 358 433 ਦਰਤ 745
Impact Execution 2022 +3 +0 +0 +0
Reclassification of IT expenses to OPEX -19 -30 -30 -30
Impact Real estate disposal program +0 +0 -16 -प्री
Vision May 2023 342 403 547 671

Furthermore, on the basis of this new EBITDA sequence excluding IFRS 16 and the new financial projections corresponding to the terms and conditions of the accelerated safeguard plan, the net debt and financial leverage projected at the end of 2025 would be adjusted as follows:

Amounts in m€
Net debt excluding IFRS adjustments IFRS / EBITDA excl.
IFRS 16
Net Debt
End of 2025
EBITDA
2025
Lever
ND / EBITDA
Vision 15 November 2022 4 873 745 6,5x
Updated vision before taking into account
the commitment of real estate disposals
4 522 715 6,3x
Vision May 2023 3 692 671 5,5x

APPENDIX 2.1: 2022-2025 Business Plan presented on November 15, 2022 (reminder)

Amounts in € millions 2022 2023 2024 2025 Cumulative
2022-2025
Turnover 4 688 5 326 5 737 6 102
EBITDAR 797 911 1 083 1 246
EBITDAR margin 17,0% 17,1% 18,9% 20,4%
EBITDA (excluding IFRS 16) 358 433 ਦਰਤ 745 2 129
EBITDA margin 7,6% 8,1% 10,3% 12,2%
Maintenance and IT capex -223 -233 -236 -242 -933
Other current operating flows -77 -68 -62 -31 -239
Operating cash flow ਟਰ 132 295 471 958
Development Capex -705 -544 -216 -132 -1 597
Cash flow after CAPEX -646 -411 79 339 -639
of which total CAPEX -928 -776 -452 -374 -2 530
Non-current items -159 -200 -33 -33 -425
Asset portfolio management 1 51 23 -24 52
Debt Charge -221 -319 -245 -241 -1 027
Cash flow before financing -1 026 -879 -176 42 -2 039
New Money 2 000 2 000
Removal / (repayment) of debts 695 -416 -367 -239 -327
Net cash flow -331 705 -543 -197 -366
Cash and cash equivalents as of 31/12 622 1 327 783 586
Net financial debt (excluding IFRS adj.) 9 026 4 739 4 915 4 873
Financial leverage (NFD/EBITDA) 25,2x 10.9x 8.3x 6.5x

APPENDIX 2.2: Updated Business Plan 2022-2025 Vision before taking into account the real estate disposal program

Amounts in Em 2022 2023 2024 2025 Cumulated
2022-2025
EBITDA (excluding IFRS 16) -16 -30 -30 -30 -106
IT and service capex +87 +18 +30 +30 +165
Other current operating cash flows -8 -76 +45 -19 - ਦੇਖੋ
Operating cash flow +62 -88 +45 -19 -0
Development capex +67 +66 -66 48 +75
Cash flow post CAPEX +130 -23 -21 -11 +75
Non-recurring items +8 +34 -18 -24 +0
Management of the asset portfolio +38 -76 +38 +0 +0
Cost of debt +6 +1 +51 +40 +98
Cash flow before financing +181 -63 +50 +5 +172
New Money -450 +400 -50
Raising / (reimbursement) of debt +54 -245 -220 +199 -213
Net cash flow +235 -759 +230 +203 -91
Amounts in Em 2022 2023 2024 2025 Cumulated
2022-2025
Revenue 4 681 5 326 5 737 6 102
EBITDAR 780 881 1 053 1 216
EBITDAR margin 16,7% 16,5% 18,4% 19,9%
EBITDA (excluding IFRS 16) 342 403 ਟਵਤ 715 2 023
EBITDA margin 7,3% 7,6% 9,8% 11,7%
IT and service capex -136 -215 -206 -212 -768
Other current operating cash flows -85 -145 -17 -21 -297
Operating cash flow 122 44 340 452 958
Development capex -638 -478 -282 -124 -1 522
Cash flow post CAPEX -516 -434 58 328 -564
including total CAPEX -774 -693 -488 -336 -2 290
Non-recurring items -151 -165 -51 -57 -425
Management of the asset portfolio ਤਰੇ -25 61 -24 52
Cost of debt -215 -318 -194 -201 -929
Cash flow before financing -844 -942 -126 46 -1 867
New Money 1 550 400 1 950
Raising / (reimbursement) of debt 748 -661 -587 -40 -540
Net cash flow -96 -54 -313 e -457
Cash flow as of 31/12 જરૂર 803 489 496
Net Financial Debt (excluding IFRS adj.) 8 860 4 443 4 569 4 522
Finanl Leverage (Fnet in. Debt/ EBITDA) 25,9x 11,0x 8,1x 6,3x

APPENDIX 2.3: Updated 2022-2025 Business Plan Vision after taking into account the real estate disposal program

lmpacts related to the implementation of the real estate sale program
----------------------------------------------------------------------- -- -- -- --
Amounts in €m 2022 2023 2024 2025 Cumulated
2022-2025
EBITDA (excluding IFRS 16) +0 -16 -44 -60
Other current operating cash flows +0 +0 +7 +7
Operating cash flow +0 -16 -37 -53
Management of the asset portfolio +0 +425 +425 +850
Cost of debt +0 +5 +28 +33
Cash flow before financing +0 +414 +416 +830
New Money -400 +400 +0
Raising / (reimbursement) of debt +0 -139 -617 -756
Net cash flow +0 -124 +198 +74
Amounts in Em 2022 2023 2024 2025 Cumulated
2022-2025
Revenue 4 681 5 326 5 737 6 102
EBITDAR 780 881 1 053 1 216
EBITDAR margin 16,7% 16,5% 18,4% 19,9%
EBITDA (excluding IFRS 16) 342 403 547 671 1 964
EBITDA margin 7,3% 7,6% 9,5% 11,0%
IT and service capex -136 -215 -206 -212 -768
Other current operating cash flows -85 -145 -17 -44 -291
Operating cash flow 122 44 324 415 905
Development capex -638 -478 -282 -124 -1 522
Cash flow post CAPEX -516 -434 42 291 -617
including total CAPEX -774 -693 -488 -336 -2 290
Non-recurring items -151 -165 -51 -57 -425
Management of the asset portfolio ਤਰੇ -25 486 401 902
Cost of debt -215 -318 -189 -173 -896
Cash flow before financing -844 -942 288 462 -1 037
New Money 1 550 0 400 1 950
Raising / (reimbursement) of debt 748 -661 -726 -657 -1 296
Net cash flow -96 -54 -488 205 -383
Cash flow as of 31/12 856 803 રૂદર 570
Net Financial Debt (excluding IFRS adj.) 8 860 4 443 4 154 3 692
Finanl Leverage (Fnet in. Debt/ EBITDA) 25,9x 11,0x 7,6x 5,5x

APPENDIX 3: financial presentation dated 12 May 2023

2022 Full-Year results and Q1 2023 revenue

12 May 2023

Agenda & Speakers

REFOUNDATION PLAN IN PROGRESS Laurent Guillot Chief Executive Officer 1

2022 FULL-YEAR RESULTS AND Q1-2023 REVENUES 2 UPDATE ON FINANCIAL RESTRUCTURING

Laurent Lemaire Executive Vice President, Finance, Procurement and IT

Laurent Guillot Chief Executive Officer

ANNUAL RESULTS 2022 2

3 NEXT STEPS AND OUTLOOK

Refoundation plan in progress

Laurent Guillot Chief Executive Officer

A new governance in 2022

(1) Calculated without taking into account the directors representing the employees

(2) Afep-Medef code, without taking into account the employee representatives

4

A necessary financial restructuration as a prerequisite for the success of the Refoundation Plan

Since July 2022

First steps to end dysfunctional practices quickly

  • Remedy: ~ 50 dismissals (zero tolerance, revision of the Code of Ethics); revision of the reporting policy (serious adverse events, alerts), acceleration of recruitments
  • Organise: normalization of labour relations, structuring of support functions
  • Remobilize: broad dialogue initiative with stakeholders and analysis of expectations formulated during the "Etats Généraux du Grand Age", direct communication with employees

A Refoundation Plan to restore the trust of our stakeholders

Since November 2022

  • Elaboration of the refoundation plan Changing ORPEA
  • A company project based on 4 pillars
    • Our people
    • Our patients, our residents and their families
    • The society
    • Our stakeholders
  • A new business plan

During 2023

A major financial restructuring to ensure the company's sustainability and to finance the Refoundation

  • Achieving a sustainable financial structure by converting €3.8bn of debt into capital and increasing equity capital
  • Long-term institutional investors invest €1.55bn in the capital
  • Obtaining new resources from the main banking partners in the form of secured debt
  • Amendment of financing contracts

4 pillars to rebuild an efficient and transparent model, with first milestones already achieved

Major progress on labor relations, recruitment and training

PATIENTS, RESIDENTS, FAMILIES

Implementation of the medico-healthcare project (supervision, Medical Commission, catering, etc.) and mediation mechanisms in Europe

The first steps towards the "mission-driven company", focused on care, in line with contemporary sustainability issues

SOCIETY

A complete overhaul of the financial structure is well underway and its implementation, in accordance with the timetable defined on November 15, will allow the financing of the Refoundation plan

STAKEHOLDERS

6

ANNUAL RESULTS 2022

7

8

ANNUAL RESULTS 2022

Actions undertaken around the 4 pillars of the plan

9

Our PEOPLE

Our PATIENTS, our RESIDENTS and their FAMILIES

SOCIETY

STAKEHOLDERS

A FINANCIAL RESTRUCTURING ESSENTIAL TO THE SUCCESS OF THE REFOUNDATION PLAN

Main steps and objectives achieved since opening of the Conciliation proceeding

14/02 Lock-up Agreement Groupement - SteerCo - ORPEA 10/03 Signing of Lock-up Agreement by c. 51% of unsecured financial creditors 20/03 Agreement with G6 banks: new money debt and misc. amendments 24/03 Judgment opening of the accelerated safeguard procedure

Only plan capable of ensuring the long-term financing of the company Conversion of the debt is essential, mechanically leading to a massive dilution of existing shareholders

Backed by long-term institutional investors: Caisse des Dépôts et Consignation, CNP, MAIF, MACSF

Support from main banking partners (G6) and a majority (c. 51%) of Orpea SA unsecured creditors

Target of 20% to 25% of owned real estate in Orpea's portfolio

A 2022 FINANCIAL YEAR SETTING THE STAGE FOR A MORE TRANSPARENT MODEL

  • Growing activity and operating performance (EBITDAR margin) close to the target announced on 15 November 2022
  • In-depth review of the entire asset portfolio
    • Reflecting the company's profound reorganization…
    • To provide an adjusted view of the capital employed
  • A more sustainable basis for rebalancing the financial structure and achieving a successful re-foundation

2022 results and update on the financial Restructuring Q1 2023 Revenue

Laurent Lemaire

Group CFO, Procurement, Information Systems

2022 Financial results

Impacted by the inflationary environment and impairment of assets

Taking into account :

  • the Group's cash position at May 4, 2023, which amounts to €354 million
  • the company's cash flow forecasts, based on the following structuring assumptions
    • new money debt of €200 million in May 2023, €200 million in July 2023 and potentially €200 million from September 2023 under the agreement with the G6;
    • successive capital increases planned during the last quarter for an amount of €1.55 billion,

the Company considers, at the date of closing of the accounts, that it has cash resources compatible with its projected commitments and is thus in a position to meet its cash requirements over the next 12 months.

On this basis, the Board of Directors has approved the financial statements for the year ending December 31, 2022 as a going concern.

Audit procedures on consolidated financial statements have been performed by the Group Auditors. The audit report will be issued after verification of the management report and finalisation of the procedures required for the filing of the Universal Registration Document. It will include an observation highlighting the justification, by management, in the financial statements of the going concern principle, as well as one highlighting the change in methodology regarding IAS 16 with the end of the revaluation model pertaining to operating properties, land and buildings owned and operated by the Group.

Evolution of revenue by geographic area
€m R
evenue 2021
R
evenue 2022
Growth % Organic Growth
%
*
F
R
ANCE
B
E
NE
LUX UK IR
E
LAND
2,643 2,802 +6.0% +4.3%
CE
NTR
AL E
UR
OP
E
1
,086
1
,1
97
+1
0.2%
+5.5%
E
AS
TE
R
N E
UR
OP
E
395 435 +1
0.2%
+8.6%
IB
E
R
IAN P
E
NINS
ULA + LATAM
1
71
242 +41
.3%
+1
6.8%
OTHE
R
COUNTR
IE
S
3 4 +32.6% +20.9%
T
OT
AL
4,299 4,681 +8.9% +5.5%
  • Average occupancy rate increases slightly in 2022 compared to 2021 despite the crisis observed in the French nursing home market
  • Contribution of openings
    • › Opening of 30 new facilities representing ~2,300 beds
    • › Mainly in Netherlands and in Eastern Europe
  • Change in scope: consolidation of Brasil Senior Living Group since 1/1/2022

*Organic growth of Group revenue reflects the following factors: 1. The year-on-year change in the revenue of existing facilities as a result of changes in their occupancy rates and daily price; 2. The year-on-year change in the revenue of refurbished facilities or those where capacity has been increased in the current or year-earlier period; 3. Revenue generated in the current period by facilities opened during the year or year-earlier period, and the change in revenue of recently acquired facilities by comparison with the previous equivalent period.

Evolution of occupancy rate in 2022

Overall occupancy rate increases thanks to the following elements:

  • Gradual recovery from the covid-19 crisis;
  • Ramp-up of newly opened facilities

Group occupancy rate (nursing homes and clinics) increases over the year: +60bps

Decline in the occupancy rate of nursing homes in France due to the crisis faced by Orpea: -400bps

(84.6% at 12.31.2022 vs 88.5% at the end of January 2022)

Average occupancy rate 2021 2022 Var.
F
rance B
enelux UK Ireland
83.8
%
83.6
%
(20) bp
Central E
urope
78.1
%
79.1
%
+1
00 bp
E
astern E
urope
79.9
%
81
.9
%
+200 bp
Iberian P
eninsula and Latam
76.4
%
78.0
%
+1
60 bp
Other countries n
s
n
s
n.a.
T
otal Group
81
.0
%
81
.6
%
+60 bp

(*)
nd
of
period
data
E
. of
sites
No
2021
. of
beds
No
2021
. of
sites
No
2022
. of
beds
No
2022
F
R
ANCE
BE
NE
LUX
UK
IR
E
LAND
530 43
076
,
551 44
1
70
,
CE
NTR
AL
E
UR
OP
E
234 23
597
,
237 23
765
,
AS
OP
E
TE
R
N
E
UR
E
116 671
1
1
,
24
1
2
764
1
,
NINS
IBE
R
IAN
P
E
ULA
LATAM
+
6
8
8
934
,
9
7
0
007
1
,
OTHE
COUNTR
S
R
IE
1 1
54
1 1
54
T
OT
AL
949 87
432
,
992 90
860
,
+4
5%
+3
9%

(*) Number of facilities, beds and flats in operation, at the end of the period for the fully consolidated entities, excluding ambulatory locations.

Evolution of EBITDAR margin

€m His
torical
2021
*
Actual
2022
Var.
Var.
R
evenue
4,299 4,681 +8.9%
S
taff costs
(2,644) (3,028) +1
4.5%
%
of
As
a
revenue
(61
5)%
(64
7)%
-31
8 pb
Other expenses (584) (873) +49.5%
As
%
of
a
revenue
(1
6)%
3
(1
7)%
8
-506 pb
E
B
IT
DAR
1
,070
780 -27.1
%
E
BIT
DAR
%
24.9
%
1
6.7
%
-824 bp
  • EBITDAR margin 2022 at 16.7% (-30bps vs target published on November 15th, 2022)
  • Evolution of the occupancy rates in 2022 does not compensate the decrease of Covid subsidies granted, the 2021 positive non-recurring items (reversal of provisions, tax credits, etc.) nor the fact that 2022 was marked by a significant increase in costs in the context of a highly inflationary environment.
  • Personnel costs increase by 14.5%: acceleration of recruitment in France during the 2nd semester and general inflationary environment affecting healthcare professions in the main geographical areas
  • Other costs increase by +49.5%: high increase in energy and food costs vs. almost stable resident and patient prices over the year
  • Group energy supply costs: 3.5% of revenue in 2022, compared to 2.3% in 2021

Evolution of EBITDAR margin

€m 2021
E
BIT
DAR
2022
E
BIT
DAR
Var
%
2021
vs
2021
E
BIT
DAR
%
2022
E
BIT
DAR
%
Var
F
B
enelux
UK
Ireland
rance
694 445 (35
9)%
26
3
%
1
5
9
%
(1
039)
bp
Central
E
urope
284 245 (13
7)%
26
1
%
20
5
%
(568)
bp
E
E
astern
urope
6
1
6
3
+3
0%
1
5
4
%
1
4
4
%
(1
00)
bp
Iberian
eninsula
and
P
Latam
3
2
2
4
(23
4)%
1
8
7
%
1
0
1
%
(856)
bp
Other
countries
(1
)
2 n
s
n
s
n
s
n
s
T
OT
AL
1
070
,
780 (27
)%
1
24
9
%
1
6
7
%
(824)
bp

His torical Actual Var. (%) His torical Actual Var.

FRANCE - BENELUX - UK - IRELAND

  • FRANCE: Impact of the drop in the occupancy rate of nursing homes + inflationary context + acceleration of recruitments (+ 800 per month) over Sept-Dec.
  • BELGIUM: strong impact of inflation (energy + food) + difficult country context
  • IRELAND: operations affected by a continuing covid context

CENTRAL EUROPE

• Mainly inflation effect (tempered in Germany by hedgingon energy costs)

EASTERN EUROPE

  • Inflationary effects (tempered by energy hedging)
  • Solid growth in occupancy rate over the period

IBERICA + LATAM

  • SPAIN: strong inflation effect (energy and other expenses)
  • LATAM: highly dilutive effect of the entry into the scope of consolidation of Brazil Senior Living in 2022

Specific points relating to 2022 financial statements

Impairment tests of intangible assets (IAS 36)

Evolution of the value of operating properties held

Financial partnerships

Non-current items

Impact of new business plan on asset valuation

IAS 36 impairment

(Goodwill and licences impairment tests)

Total (excluding
taxes):
€(3.1)bn

Fixed
assets:
€(1.0)bn

Licences:
€(1.4)bn

Goodwill:
€(0.4)bn

Other
assets:
€(0.2)bn

Impact on 2022 accounts

  • The total amount of impairment relating to IAS 36 has no direct impact on the company's cash flow (non-cash)
  • These impairments are recognized in 2022 income statement under "non-current items".

Specific points relating to 2022 financial statements

Impairment tests of intangible assets (IAS 36)

Evolution of the value of operating properties held

Financial partnerships

Non-current items

Change of accounting policies related to operating properties under IAS 16

HISTORICAL ACCOUNTING POLICIES

  • Revalued at fair value of operating properties accounted as assets in financial statements
  • The difference between cost and fair value is recognised under « Revaluation reserves » net of taxes in equity

FROM 2022 CLOSING CHANGE OF ACCOUNTING POLICIES

  • Change of accounting policies related to operating properties under IAS 16
  • ORPEA will continue to publish the value of its operating properties on an annual basis, including the valuation carried out by independent experts this asset value will be different from the value of operating properties recorded in financial statements

Equity reduced by €1.5bn (no impact on 2022 P&L)

Reduction corresponding to the cumulative net amount of IAS revaluations recorded in the accounts at 12/31/2021 net of reversals on deferred taxes liabilities

(€1.9bn – €0.4bn)

ANNUAL RESULTS 2022

New business plan

Forecast by facility as part of the Strategic plan presented on November 15, 2022

Other specific parameters have impacted the value of real estate portfolio in 2022 financial

statements

1

2

  • Evolution of return rates (interest rates, markets parameters...)
  • Detailed review of internally valued assets (furnished rentals, assets under construction…)
  • Reclassification of some assets outside the property scope (equipment)

Average yield of assets valued by independent experts:

5.1% in 2022vs ~4.8% in 2021 (the 2021 average yield has been recalculated according to the method used for FY2022)

Evolution of the value of the real estate portfolio

Specific points relating to 2022 financial statements

Impairment tests of intangible assets (IAS 36)

Evolution of the value of operating properties held

Financial partnerships

Non-current items

Financial partnerships

UPDATE ON FINANCIAL RECEIVABLES RELATED TO PARTNERSHIPS

  • Advances granted by the Group to associates, joint ventures and to other subsidiaries amounted to €757m at 12.31.2022
  • A large part of the value of these financial receivables is considered as bad debt
  • In 2022, the Group has entered into negotiations in order to unwinding these partnerships and recovering the assets (including real estate) backed by these receivables
  • A significant portion of these receivables concerns a single partner, with whom an initial agreement was signed at the beginning of 2023 for part of the scope concerned; negotiations are continuing for the remaining part of the scope

Summary of asset impairments at the end of 2022 (excluding tax)

Specific points relating to 2022 financial statements

Impairment tests of intangible assets (IAS 36)

Evolution of the value of operating properties held

Financial partnerships

Non-current items

items
Non
2022
-current
IAS
36
Depreciations
081
3
,
(assets
construction/other)
Other
real
depreciations
under
estate
372
of
financial
receivables
Depreciation
534
Crisis
refinancing
management
expenses
-
50
Crisis
HR
management
expenses
-
26
Crisis
others
management
expenses
-
(including
adjustments)
Others
receivable
accounts
24
1
TOTAL 4
223
,

NB : gross amounts before tax.

Specific points relating to 2022 financial statements

Impairment tests of intangible assets (IAS 36)

Evolution of the value of operating properties held

Financial partnerships

Non-current items

Net income

€m 2021 2022
E
B
ITDAR
1
070
,
780
%
E
BITDAR
24
9
%
6
%
1
7
Depreciations on new assets + additional IFRS 16
E
B
ITDA
1
041
,
756 charge (new facilities)
%
E
BITDA
24
2
%
6
2
%
1
D&A
and
provisions
(645) (805) Impact of the increase of spreads in June Refinancing
E
B
IT
396 (49) + rise in interest rates
inancial
result
F
(249) (31
9)
Non
current
(41
)
(4
223)
,
Mainly IAS 36 impact + impairments of real estate and
before
Net
income
tax
1
06
(4
)
591
,
receivables with financial partners
Income
tax
(38) 596
profit/(loss)
S
hare
in
of
associates
and
J
Vs
(1
)
(33) Positive impact of the reversal of IAS 36 deferred tax
Minority
interests
(2) 1 liabilities
(Group
share)
result
Net
65 (4
027)
,

His torical Actual

Note: EBITDA hors IFRS 16 2021 : 682 M€ / 15.9% margin ; 2022 : 342 M€ / 7.3% margin

Depreciations on new assets + additional IFRS 16

Impact of the increase of spreads in June Refinancing

Mainly IAS 36 impact + impairments of real estate and

Positive impact of the reversal of IAS 36 deferred tax

Cash flow statement 2022

(M€)
excl
S
6
E
B
IT
DA
IF
R
1
342
/
adjustments
cash
cash
E
BITDA
non
1
1
(excl
tax)*
Change
in
WCR
income
(23)
Operating
CAP
E
X
(1
36)
(cash)
Income
taxes
(72)
Operational
Cash
F
low
1
22
2022
Development
capex
(638)
eal
disposals
R
E
state
1
32
Non-current
items
(1
52)
Net
financial
expenses
(21
5)
Net
financial
investments
(94)
Changes
in
perimeter
(31
)
Others (40)
(excl
)
VAR
NE
T
F
INANCIAL
DE
B
T
IF
R
S
(91
6)
(excl
)
financial
2/31
/2021
Net
debt
IF
R
S
1
(7
944)
,
Change
in
debt
net
(91
6)
(excl
)
2/31
/2022
financial
debt
S
Net
IF
R
1
(8
860)
,

(*) excluding taxes, partnership financing and security deposits vs. €59m presented on November 15, 2022

Reduction vs. the BP presented on November 15,

Mainly in The Netherlands

Mainly Orpea crisis-related costs

Related to past commitments

Net financial debt at the end of 2022

Structure of net financial debt at the end of 2022

€m OR
P
E
A S
A
S
ubsidiaries
Total
J
une 2022 F
inancing
3,227 - 3,227 1
G6 New Money - - -
S
ecured debt
320 1
,762
2,082
P
rivate P
lacements €
32 - 32
S
ub-total secured debt
3,579 1
,762
5,341
Listed bonds 1
,400
- 1
,400
Bank debt 1
55
41
6
571
P
rivate P
lacements €
698 - 698
S
chuldschein/NS
V
1
,570
1
36
1
,706
S
ub-total unsecured debt
3,823 552
2
4,375
Gross financial debt (excl. IF
R
S
)
7,402 2,31
4
9,71
6
Cash flow 856 Net debt at end 2021
Net financial debt as at 31
.1
2.2022 (excl.
IF
R
S
)
8,860 7,944
S
adjustments
IF
R
02
1
-
Net financial debt (IF
R
S
view, excl. IF
R
S
1
6)
8,758 7,91
0

FINANCING OF €3.227bn WITH THE MAIN BANKING PARTNERS (*) 1

  • o Syndicated loan of €1.7bn with staggered maturities until 2025, of which €900m (A1 and A4 loans) had to be repaid before the end of 2023 out of the net proceeds from the sale of property assets (€1bn to be realized before the end of 2023)
  • o Refinancing line (Loan C) of €1.5bn to extend the maturity of certain debts to 2026

(*) under a conciliation procedure approved on June 10, 2022. Terms and Conditions subject to adjustment pursuant to the agreement concluded on March 17, 2023 with the main banking partners

UNSECURED DEBT ORPEA SA

2

Var.

91 6

848

o Settlement of the entire amount (€3.8 billion) under the accelerated safeguard procedure opened on 24 March 2023, through a capital increase with maintenance of the preferential subscription rights of the existing shareholders (**) guaranteed by all unsecured creditors who will subscribe, if necessary, by way of compensation with their existing claims (conversion of the debt into shares)

(**) any cash proceeds resulting from the subscription by the existing shareholders to this capital increase being used in full to reimburse the Company's unsecured financial creditors at par value in due proportion

Use of new money from the June 2022 refinancing

0.00

0.20

0.40

0.60

0.80

1.00

1.20

1.40

1.60

1.80

2.00

The June 2022 new money (loans A & B) of €1.7bn mainly financed:

  • Debt service excluding G6 (interests and principal repayments): €0.9bn
  • Development CAPEX: €0.7bn

2022

~€2.3bn of financial debt comprising R1/R2 covenants at 12/31/2022, including:

  • €2bn at ORPEA SA level, the application of which is suspended during the accelerated safeguard procedure and that will be converted into equity following the accelerated safeguard procedure
  • €0.3bn for subsidiaries for which a signed or an agreement in principle has been obtained with regard to waivers relating to the R1/R2 financial ratio clauses

After the financial restructuring

1 single covenant that replaces R1/R2:

• Relates to €0.4bn of debt

  • Leverage: net debt / EBITDA excl. IFRS 16
  • Covenant holiday until H1 2025 and testing from 30 June 2025 at 9.0x

Simplified view of the consolidated balance sheet at the end of 2022 (assets)

Restated from the
withdrawal of IAS 16
(in
euros)
million
/1
2/2022
31
/1
2/2021
31
R
estated
*
/1
2/2021
31
P
ublished
Impairment
of
intangible
AS
S
TS
E
assets
Goodwill 1
362
491
,
,
1
668
553
,
,
1
668
553
,
,
Intangible
assets,
net
1
592
231
,
,
3
076
406
,
,
3
076
406
,
,
P
plant
and
equipment
roperty,
, net
4
374
692
,
,
5
324
490
,
,
7
237
005
,
,
Real estate
Assets
in
progress
626
633
,
832
385
,
832
385
,
(including IAS
R
ight-of-use
assets
3
499
987
,
,
3
072
567
,
,
3
072
567
,
,
16 withdrawal)
and
Investments
in
associates
joint
ventures
852
7
,
84
58
1
,
84
58
1
,
Non-current
financial
assets
1
80
997
,
94
703
,
94
703
,
Deferred
tax
assets
581
556
,
0
1
1
5
51
,
0
1
1
5
51
,
Non-current
as s ets
1
2
226
438
,
,
1
4
268
772
,
,
1
6
1
81
287
,
,
Inventories 6
00
1
1
,
1
5
735
,
1
5
735
,
T
rade
receivables
455
368
,
431
630
,
431
630
,
Other
receivables
, accruals
and
prepayments
586
957
,
01
1
5
354
,
,
01
1
5
354
,
,
Cash
and
cash
equivalents
856
41
7
,
952
369
,
952
369
,
Financial
Current
as s ets
91
842
1
4
,
,
2
088
41
5
,
,
2
088
41
5
,
,
Partnerships
Assets
held
for
sale
353
1
54
,
387
952
,
387
952
,
TOTAL
AS
S
TS
E
494
1
4
435
,
,
071
81
2
1
7
,
,
8
984
327
1
,
,

Simplified view of the consolidated balance sheet at the end of 2022 (liabilities)

Restated from the withdrawal of IAS 16
(in
euros)
million
/1
2/2022
31
/1
2/2021
31
estated
R
*
/1
2/2021
31
ublished
P
Negative
shareholders'
E
QUITY
AND
L
IAB
IL
ITIE
S
equity
Total
cons olidated
equity
(1
235)
502
,
,
2
364
335
,
,
81
228
3
1
,
,
Long-term
financial
debt
1
378
335
,
,
7
006
775
,
,
7
006
775
,
,
Non-current
lease
commitments
3
424
1
52
,
,
2
968
098
,
,
2
968
098
,
,
rovisions
P
296
95
1
,
48
436
1
,
48
436
1
,
P
rovisions
for
pensions
and
other
employee
benefit
obligations
66
1
95
,
75
035
,
75
035
,
Reversal of deferred tax
Deferred
liabilities
and
other
liabilities
tax
non-current
81
3
993
,
997
009
,
1
433
660
,
,
liabilities (IAS 36)
Non-current
liabilities
5
978
870
,
,
1
1
1
95
353
,
,
1
1
632
004
,
,
hort-term
financial
debt
S
8
236
459
,
,
1
855
524
,
,
1
855
524
,
,
Including €6.5bn reclassified
Current
lease
commitments
344
31
7
,
297
098
,
297
098
,
from long-term to short-term
P
rovisions
(0) 22
464
,
22
464
,
due to the direct and indirect
default related to the breach
of R1/R2 covenants
rade
payables
T
326
954
,
797
334
,
797
334
,
T
ax and
payroll
liabilities
41
1
874
,
329
1
07
,
329
1
07
,
Current
income
liabilities
tax
2
1
1
471
,
68
808
,
68
808
,
Other
payables
, accruals
and
prepayments
529
494
,
633
297
,
633
297
,
Current
liabilities
9
961
569
,
,
3
541
095
,
,
3
541
095
,
,
L
iabilities
held
for
sale
56
232
,
0 0
TOTAL
E
QUITY
AND
LIAB
ILITIE
S
1
4
494
435
,
,
1
7
071
81
2
,
,
1
8
984
327
,
,
Nov 15th
2022
Actual 2022
Revenue €4,688m €4,681m
EBITDAR €797m €780m
Net financial debt (excluding IFRS 16) €9.02bn €8.86bn
Development Capex (1) €705m €638m

[1] : mainly construction of new facilities

In accordance with applicable legal provisions, the Company has requested and obtained from the President of the Nanterre Commercial Court an extension of the deadline for the Shareholders' Meeting convened to approve the financial statements for the year ending December 31, 2022. The order issued by the President of the Nanterre Commercial Court on May 11, 2023 extends the meeting deadline to December 29, 2023. Consequently, the Company will convene and hold its annual shareholders' meeting before this date and, in any event, once the new shareholders have acquired their stake in the Company's capital.

Update on the Financial Restructuring

Key parameters

The June 2022 plan was based on
major real estate
disposals

2022-25: €2bn
disposal
commitment

From April 2022: discussions initiated with real estate investors (mid-sized
operations and larger asset portfolios)
Several unfavourable
developments
have jeopardised
the implementation
of the disposals in the anticipated
proportions and timing

Rising interest rates impacting the real estate market

Weakened operating performance in H1 2022 (inflation, occupancy rates)

Continued strategic review and anticipation of first asset write-downs

Deteriorated perception, uncertainty on covenants, and expectation of excessive
leverage at end 2022 (>25x)
The success of the Refoundation Plan
requires a major financial
restructuring as envisaged under the
accelerated safeguard procedure

Reduction of net debt by converting unsecured debt into capital and providing
new capital funding

Securing the resources needed for the Refoundation plan: provision of new
money and adjustment of the terms and conditions of the June 2022 loan

Submission of the financial restructuring plan to the approval of the classes of affected parties

  • The judicial administrators appointed by the Nanterre Commercial Court will convene the classes of parties affected by the Company's proposed accelerated safeguard plan (including the class of shareholders) (the "Accelerated Safeguard Plan") in order to vote on the Accelerated Safeguard Plan (including the capital increases referred to below), at meetings to be held, according to the indicative timetable envisaged to date, around mid-June
  • In the event that the Accelerated Safeguard Plan is not approved by one or more of the classes of affected parties, it may, pursuant to article L.626-32 of the French Commercial Code, be adopted by the Commercial Court at the request of the Company or of the Judicial Administrator with the agreement of the Company and be imposed on the class or classes of affected parties that did not vote in favor, subject to compliance with the conditions set forth in the aforementioned provisions ("cross-class cram down")
  • In the event of a cross-class cram down, the Accelerated Safeguard Plan will provide for the issuance, in each of the planned capital increases, of a number of new shares ten times higher than the number of new shares that would be issued in the event of a favorable vote of the Accelerated Safeguard Plan by each of the classes of affected parties, resulting in a dilution of the existing shareholders (in the event that they decide not to participate in any of the capital increases), ten times higher, in the event of a cross-class cram down
  • This would result, in the event of a cross-class cram down, in the issuance of new shares at issue prices ten times lower than the issue prices applicable in the event of a favorable vote of the Accelerated Safeguard Plan by each of the classes of affected parties.
  • The following two slides present the main financial parameters of each of the capital increases (i) in the event of approval of the Accelerated Safeguard Plan by each of the classes of affected parties and (ii) in the event of non-approval of the Accelerated Safeguard Plan by at least one of the classes of affected parties, and the implementation of a cross-class cram down with respect to the class(es) of affected parties concerned

Main characteristics of the capital increases provided for in the safeguard plan Approval by each class of affected parties

(1) Excluding a possible reduction of the nominal value and/or consolidation of shares prior to the implementation of the capital increases

Main characteristics of the capital increases provided for in the safeguard plan

Not approved by at least one of the classes of affected parties

1
Conversion of unsecured debt into capital
2
Capital increase Groupement
New Money
3
Capital increase with preferential
subscription rights
Main parameters
and
terms
Amount
c. €3.8bn

Capital increase with preferential subscription rights
for existing shareholders, guaranteed by all unsecured
financial creditors of ORPEA SA, SA who subscribe, if
applicable, by way of set-off against their existing
receivables

Any cash proceeds resulting from the subscription by
the existing shareholders will be used in full to repay
the unsecured financial creditors of ORPEA SA at par
value in due proportion

Approximately 65bn new shares issued
Amount
c. €1.15bn

Capital increase reserved for the Groupement, in cash,
with priority right of shareholders if the shareholders, as a
class of affected parties, do not approve the accelerated
safeguard plan

This priority right will exclusively benefit the shareholders
existing before the launch of the first capital increase, and
will therefore not benefit the unsecured creditors who
may become shareholders of the Company at the end of
step 1

Subscription of the Groupement
up to the difference
between the total amount of the capital increase and any
amount subscribed by the shareholders via their priority
right

Approximately 65bn new shares issued
Amount
c. €0.4bn

Capital increase in cash with preferential subscription
rights for existing shareholders:

Subscribed on an irreducible basis by the members of
the Groupement for approximately €0.2bn by
exercising their preferential subscription rights

Open to all shareholders (including creditors who
have become shareholders) and backstopeped
by
the "SteerCo"

Approximately 29bn new shares issued
Capital structure after
each transaction
(assuming no
participation of existing
shareholders)

Unsecured creditors converted to equity: 99.9%

Existing
shareholders: 0.1%

Groupement: 50.2%

Unsecured creditors converted to equity: 49.8%

Existing
shareholders: 0.05%

Groupement: 50.2%

Unsecured creditors converted to equity: 40%

Unsecured creditors providing new equity (SteerCo):
9.8%

Existing
shareholders: 0.04%
Theoretical
issue prices
(1)
> 3,3x

Approximately
€0.059 per share

Approximately
€0.018 per share
Transactions resulting in massive dilution for existing shareholders (and 10 times higher than the dilution incurred in the event of approval
of the plan by each of the classes of affected parties ) and based on issue prices that are significantly lower than the current

Approximately
€0.013 per share
share price

(1) Excluding a possible reduction of the nominal value and/or consolidation of shares prior to the implementation of the capital increases

The financial restructuring is also based on the implementation of a RCF by the main banking partners and on the modification of the terms and conditions of the June 2022 loan

NEW MONEY (RCF)
TOTAL: €400m + €200m
MAIN T&C,
Margin: 2.00% p.a.
D1: €400m (échéance 30/06/2026)
D1A -
€200m to be drawn by end of
May 2023
COMMITMENTS AND
GUARANTEES GRANTED
UNDER NEW MONEY
FINANCING

Pledge on the shares issued by ORESC 26 directly holding 100% of the capital and
voting rights of Niort 94 and Niort 95

Commitment to maintain an LTV ratio of less than 55% at 31/12/2023 and less than 50%
thereafter
D1B
-
€200m to be drawn in July 2023
D2+D3 = 2 x €100m "Bridge to Equity"
available in the event of an appeal
against the waiver of the launch of a
takeover bid to be granted by the
AMF (which would result in a delay of
the planned capital increases)
Drawings D1B, D2 and D3 remain respectively
subject to the establishment of securities and
the approval of the safeguard plan by the
Commercial Court of Nanterre
MAIN T&C AND
COMMITMENTS
RESULTING FROM THE
AMENDMENT OF THE
TERMS AND
CONDITIONS OF THE
JUNE 2022 CREDIT

Margin: 2.00% p.a.

Final maturity: 31/12/2027

Contractual amortisation: €200m per year over 2023, 2024 and 2026; €300m in 2025

Property disposals > €1.25bn by end 2025 -
replacing previous commitment of €2bn

Annual cash sweep applicable from 30/06/2025: allocation of 75% of net disposal
proceeds of property and operating assets (less contractual amortization) subject to
maintaining a minimum liquidity of €300m until the end of the year concerned

Minimum liquidity covenant (> €300m tested on a half-yearly basis)

Maturity of gross financial debt (excluding IFRS)

  • Conversion of ORPEA SA unsecured debt into shares
  • Extension of the maturities of the financing to June 2022
  • Drawdown of €400m of additional "new money" financing

(*) Excluding IFRS reclassification to short term debt due to breach of R1/R2 covenants as at 31.12.2022

Notes:

  • 1 Assumption of long-term renewal of the factoring line of €128M. It is included in the column '> 2028'
  • 2 Repayment of additional principal of € 100 million in 2025 upon receipt of net proceeds of sale of € 100 million

Update of the 2022 -2025 Business Plan

  • Update produced as a result of the reviews carried out in the context of the closing of the 2022 accounts
  • Business outlook 2022 to 2025 unchanged from the vision presented on November 15, 2022
    • o EBITDAR / EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 impacted by the reclassification of IT expenses from CAPEX to OPEX (~€19m in 2022 / €30m > 2022) No impact on operating flows (adjustment to match IT CAPEX)

Financial projections 2022 2025 adjusted

  • Considering the 2022 accounts
  • Considering the terms and conditions of the Safeguard Plan (lock-up agreement and G6 agreement)
  • Based on a real estate disposal program of €1.25bn over the period (G6 commitment)

2022 Real 2025 actualized1 CAGR
22-25
Revenue €4,681m €6,102m
Unchanged
+9%
EBITDAR
(% CA)
€780m
(16.7%)
€1,216m
(19.9%)
€30m
reclassification
IT
Capex
Opex
to
+16%
EBITDA excl. IFRS 162
(% CA)
€342m €671m
~€45m
rental
income
from
property
disposals
+25%
# BEDS 90,860 96,806
Unchanged
+2%

Note : (1) 2025 figures from 2022 geographical scope, (2) IFRS 16 EBITDA - external property rental expenses not considered in IFRS 16 EBITDA (net of all external property rentals)

53 ANNUAL RESULTS 2022

2022 2025 : Operating cash-flow generation

€m
[reminder of figures presented on
11/15/2022]
2022R 2023 2024 2025 2022-2025
Operating Cash-Flow1 122
[159]
43
[132]
322
[295]
416
[471]
903
€(53)m
novembre
22
vs.
Development Capex (638)
[(705)]
(478)
[(544)]
(282)
[(216)]
(124)
[(132)]
(1,522)
+€75m
novembre
22
vs
Net balance (516)
[(646)]
(435)
[(412)]
40
[79]
292
[339]
(619)
+€22m
novembre
22
vs

Note : (1) EBITDA excluding IFRS 16 - change in WCR and other non-cash current items - Maintenance and IT CAPEX - Taxes paid

Debt reduction 2023-2025: November 15, 2022 vision

,0

1,000

2,000

3,000

4,000

5,000

6,000

7,000

8,000

9,000

Debt reduction 2023-2025: updated vision (May 2023)

,0

1,000

2,000

3,000

4,000

5,000

6,000

7,000

8,000

9,000

Summary: update of the leverage target to end 2025

  • › Leverage at the end of 2025 is a key parameter for the Group's future refinancing trajectory (horizon 2025-2026)
    • › Target net debt at the end of 2025 reduced by €1.2bn from one vision to the next:
      • €50m following the 2022-2023 review
      • €300m under the terms and conditions of the Safeguard Plan
      • €830m under the property disposal program
    • A more ambitious leverage target of 5.5x at the end of 2025

Q1 2023 Revenue

Q1 2023 Revenue

€m R
evenue
Q1
2022
R
evenue
Q1
2023
Growth Organic
Growth*
enelux
Irlande
F
B
UK
rance
679 720 +6
0%
8%
+5
Central
E
urope
283 322 +1
3
7%
+1
2
6%
E
E
astern
urope
1
01
1
21
+1
9
7%
+1
9
6%
Iberian
peninsula
and
Latam
5
5
6
9
+24
7%
+21
8%
Other
countries
1 2 +88
0%
+3
4%
T
OT
AL
1
1
20
,
1
234
,
+1
0
2%
+9
5%
Occupancy
(avg
)
rate
Q1
2022
Q1
2023
(bps)
Var
France
Benelux
UK
Ireland
84
9%
83
8%
(115)
bps
Central
Europe
78
1%
81
5%
bps
340
Eastern
Europe
80
9%
83
7%
bps
287
Iberian
peninsula
and
Latam
74
4%
83
2%
886
bps
Other
countries
83
5%
42
9%
(4062)
bps
Total 81
4%
83
0%
160
bps
  • › Dynamic organic growth: 9.5%
  • › Average occupancy rate of 83%, up +160 bps vs Q1 2022
  • › In France, business was solid in clinics, while the occupancy rate in nursing homes did not recover to date
  • › In Central Europe, Eastern Europe and in the Iberian Peninsula and Latin America, business benefited from an upturn in occupancy rates and a favorable price effect.

*Organic growth in Group revenues includes: 1. Change in revenue (N vs. N-1) of existing facilities resulting from changes in their occupancy rates and per diem rates; 2. Change in revenue (N vs. N-1) of facilities that have been restructured or whose capacity has been increased in N or N-1; 3. Revenue generated in N by facilities created in N or in N-1, and the change in revenue of recently acquired facilities over a period equivalent in N to the consolidation period in N-1.

Next steps and outlook

Laurent Guillot Group Chief Executive Officer

Transforming ourselves to become once again the benchmark operator in the care and support of the most vulnerable

Supporting the cultural transformation of the group

at the heart of our activities

Committing the company to a mission-based model

Completing the return to basics Continue the structuring of our financial, IT, purchasing and HR functions affected by the crisis

Develop "trust & inspire" management based on responsibility, ethics and trust

Implement the group's medical and nursing project by decompartmentalising our professions and our establishments Strengthening care and support

Restoring financial stability Successfully implement the financial restructuring plan

By living our values, by affirming our "Raison d'être", by transforming our business model

A responsible group, sustainable practices, a positive impact

A corporate project with a mission focused on care, in line with contemporary sustainability issues

DISCLAIMER

This document contains forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties, including references, regarding the Group's expected growth and profitability in the future that may significantly impact the expected performance indicated in the forward-looking statements. These risks and uncertainties relate to factors out of the control of the Company and not accurately estimated, such as market conditions. Any forward-looking statements made in this document are statements about the Company's beliefs and expectations and should be evaluated as such. Actual events or results may differ from those described in this document due to a number of risks or uncertainties described within Chapter 3 of the Company's 2022 Universal Registration Document, which is available on the Company's website, on the French financial markets regulator, AMF's website (www.amf-france.org), and in the 2022 Half-Year Financial Report published on September 30, 2022.

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